I’m really bad at making lists

memorial day

First, since this post is about the Memorial Day weekend, I want to take a moment to thank and remember all of those who gave the ultimate sacrifice for our country in the line of duty, and those who came home and have since passed on.  We have many family members who have served or are serving in the Marines, the Navy, the Air Force, and the Army, and I am so proud of them and humbled by their service.

For the Memorial Day weekend, my husband and I went to Pittsburgh to spend some time with my family and to visit with friends.  I knew going into it that this would be my first real test of how I handled a number of food stresses being thrown at me in a short amount of time.  We had a 5 hour drive each way, I would be going to my first restaurant while on Optifast, and there would be tons of food at the annual picnic.

In preparing for the trip, I decided to use one of the skills I learned from my BPD therapy called Planning Ahead.  Basically, you take what you know about a situation that will be coming up, and then try to minimize your triggers.  I’ve used this before for different situations, and for this particular instance decided that I would make a list of foods that I would request not be in the house.

Seems like a good idea, right?

My sister and my mom (the ones who plan the food) were very receptive to this idea – thanks guys!! – and took my list to heart.  Now, those of you who know me know I am pretty good at the whole planning thing, leaving no stone un-turned and all that jazz, so my family was pretty confident that I made a comprehensive list of the foods that would give me problems.

Well, there was one problem.  When I made the list, I was craving two foods REALLY BAD – pretzels and watermelon. So that’s what ended up on my list. Just those two foods.  At the time it made sense, since it was literally all I could think about food-wise that I would really like and want.

The car ride was fine (Ryan got some bacon, egg, and cheese biscuits that smelled fantastic), but when we made it to my parent’s house I was shocked to find Oreo’s. And Cooler Ranch Doritos.  And stuff to make s’mores. And cinnamon monkey bread.  With each protest I made when another food I loved was pulled out, my sister would remind me “that wasn’t on your list!!!” before eating a few and then hastily putting the package away.  At the restaurant, Primanti’s, everyone was nice enough to order foods that I don’t like so that I wouldn’t be tempted as I sipped my “splurge” diet Coke (diet pops are allowed on the program).

The annual memorial day picnic with long-time family friends at South Park was actually much easier than I was expecting it to be.  I barely drank any alcohol before starting the program, so not having any wasn’t any real change for me.  It was a “Bring Your Own Everything” event, so there was a variety of foods that everyone brought to share.  Pretty much everyone there knew that I was doing this program, and were very good about not offering me foods or putting really yummy things down right in front of me.  That was a HUGE help, and I cannot thank everyone enough for their consideration!!!!!!!!!  All through that day and night, I was just blown away at the amount of support they were showing by going out of their way to make things easier for me.

Throughout the weekend, I was constantly reminded of how much the support of those around me is critical to my success with this venture!  I’ve encountered some people on different forums who don’t have the support of their spouse or kids, and I am just so grateful and lucky to have a huge network of family, friends, co-workers, and even strangers on some of the discussion boards who are rooting for me!!  I can’t even begin to express how much gratitude and love I have for you all ❤

Because of the holiday weekend, I didn’t meet with the dietician this week.  However, I still have not cheated a single time to this day (which is a small miracle), and as of June 1st (Day 15) I had “unofficially” lost another 7 pounds, making my total weight loss so far around 17 pounds!  Hopefully I get to add in broccoli and other low-starch veggies at my dietician appointment this coming Wednesday!!!

6 thoughts on “I’m really bad at making lists

  1. Tomas says:

    That’s great Allie, you are doing an amazing job with this! Keep it up, I’m glad that you feel friends are supportive, we are here for whatever you need!

    Like

  2. Monica MacAuley says:

    Wow Allie! I’m so pleased and happy for you. I’d love to drop 17 lbs. it’s amazing to think about how food has such an incredible stranglehold on our lives. I’m slowly realizing I have food triggers too. I love following your blog. Doug and I are leaving in AM for Yosemite and Lake Tahoe. I’ll be posting on FB. Love ya girlie!💋❤️Keep on truckin’!

    Like

    • Thank you so much Monica!! I love that you’re following my blog 🙂 Hope you have a great time at Lake Tahoe!! I’m super jealous I hear it’s gorgeous there!

      Like

Leave a Reply

